How to Be an Alien

This is a classic of English humour enjoyed by people all around the world. Go ahead and tell us your opinion.

Thanks for posting!

18 responses to “How to Be an Alien

  1. I like this book because it is very funny and I read it very fast. This book shows the typical things and customs of English people.

  2. I don´t like this book. This is an easy book to read, but the writer’s humour is very difficult to understand.

  3. It’s a very entertaining book. The author criticizes the British customs, but he uses the typical British humour to do it. He is a very British alien.

  4. This is a funny book. This book shows what English people are like with a pinch of humor. It is very easy to read.

  5. I don´t like this book, because it hasn’t got a plot , some chapters are very difficult to understand. The only advantage is that it shows life inEngland.

  6. I don’t understand this book. I don’t know English humor. I’ll read it once more to understand it. I’ll visit England soon!

  7. It is a book I don’t like because it has a lot of information and at the moment to explain it in English it is a bit difficult. I prefer a book that tells stories. Also I have to say that this book has enough entertaining commentaries.

  8. I don´t like it because I don´t understand English humour. I think they are different from Spanish people, and their customs are different too. Some things are funny, for example when he speaks about the bus drivers.

  9. I don´t like the book because I don´t understand its humor. But I like the costums of English people and their obsession with the weather. Now I know that English people are more polite.

  10. I like How to be an Alien because it is a funny book and it has short chapters, then it is easy to read.

  11. I like it a lot because I think that this book is the truth about English humor.
    I think that Englih people are that wayand the country is well drawn by the author.
    In fact, I also think that it is good for pocket books if there are several plots or stories.
    My opinion in general is very good about “How to be an Alien”.

  12. I really enjoyed this book, even though the author was a foreigner who wanted to explain how strange English humor was, he managed to write a book with a great sense of English humor. The author was able to describe English people and their humor and special behaviour very well.

  13. I DON’T LIKE IT VERY MUCH ,BECAUSE IT ISN,T A STORY AND I PREFER SOMETHING MORE INTERESTING ,AND MORE ENTERTAINING . SOME THINGS ARE THE SAME IN OTHER COUNTRIES,LIKE THE PEOPLE HAVE MORE COMMUNICATION WITH THEIR PETS THAN WITH OTHER PEOPLE .

  14. This is very interesting book,but some chapters are difficult ,because we don´t understand English black humor and some habits.

  15. Sinuhé Alvarado

    I think this book is boring. I didn´t like this book because, I don´t understand English humor. My impression of English people isn´t good. They are arrogant. To them, the rest of the world doesn’t exist, their opinions don´t matter
    They live in an island and their world is an island.
    The vocabulary of this book is very interesting and completes my poor expressions.
    I think that all people in the world are different, each country has a different character, expressions and ways to understand life.

  16. This book is a little boring, I didn´t like it because English humour isn´t as good as Spanish humour and I didn´t understand some things about it.

    I like that the vocabulary is easy and it´s interesting to read although the writer talks about the typical English society.

  17. I read this book and think that it is an interesting book and sometimes is funny but I think that the author tries to criticize the English lifestyle and personality. I enjoyed the book and I think that it is easy and funny to read.
    With this book you can learn about English people, how they live and what they think.
    People say that it´s a funny book, but I think that it´s a serious book, if I were an English man I wouldn´t like this book, I´m sure, because the author writes with humour but very he is very hard about English people.
    Bye!!

  18. Carmen González

    I don`t like the book because I don`t understand this kind of humour. I think all people have strange things in every country, in Hungary too. He could write the strange things of his country for our information.

Leave a Reply

