The Baby Human. Geniuses in Diapers

This documentary tells us about research on how the baby human develops its intelligence. In Avanzado 2, just before the winter holidays, students watched the episode called “To Belong”.
Dear students, would you recommend people this documentary? Thanks for posting!

8 responses to “The Baby Human. Geniuses in Diapers

  1. Hi,
    The documentary is amazing. I`ve watched the Talk EPISODE. It is a selection of experiments that try to prove that babies start to learn to talk very early… just when they are in the womb! When they ARE born they are able to recognize their parents Language. One of the experimets made by a researcher using a 12 hour baby is the following: by using a pacifier connected to a computer it is possible to see that the baby recognizes his/her mother`s first Language – I mean the Language that the mum has been talking during the pregnancy. And it is possible to see this because of the intensity of the suction. When the baby listens to a different Language – in this case Tagalo, a Philippine Language- the intensity of the suction diminishes. It is incredible because when the baby listens to English the intensity of the suction increases considerably. There are many experiments… I recommend this documentary to all people that are interested in the babies’ development.
    Enjoy it!
    Best.

  2. Hello,
    I enjoyed this documentary very much, especially because I want to be a midwife one day!
    While I was watching the documentary, I was all the time with an stupid smile on my face…it is because children make me feel happy!
    I advice you to see The baby Human because it is one of the best documentaries I have ever seen!
    I hope you like it!
    Bye!
    Teacher’s comment: Yaiza, why don’t you suggest we watch the complete episode in class? 😉

  3. I think this documentary is amazing!
    I really enjoyed it. And I think it isn´t only amusing but very useful and interesting too. I am even thinking of giving it as a “birthday present” to one of my friends who has just had a baby!

  4. The documentary was very surprising . The different behaviours of children were unpredictable sometimes although scientists could associate certain norms of behaviour depending on the age of the children.

  5. Azu&Alex..AV2 really?

    hi there!

    We really laughed a lot watching the video! What a shame we couldn’t do the phonetics! XD

    Teachers’ tip: “We had a laugh …” (To have a laugh, to have a couple of laughs) 🙂

  6. I totally agree with you. It is really interesting and provides a fascinating insight into the process of learning how to deal with other babies, sharing things, negociating, etc. Amazing.

  7. Hi dear mates!
    There is no doubt that this is a recommendable documentary. Not only is thought-provoking, but is also an enormous source of knowledge. In my opinion the baby human journey and upbringing run in the same way. Children are learning at any time, they are continuosly absorbing information like an sponge. All kind of behaviours are related to the age. According to it, there are some stages during the baby life in which we can make a prediction . However, every baby is a differen world. The first thing what we need to consider is that they are completely unpredictable because they are involved in a process of developing skills. The human intelligence has no limits. Moreover, parentes should keep in mind how to bring-up them. Children learn what they see!! Finally, I would like to say that it´s worth watching this video and we have the opportunity to improve our knowledge and notice the quantity of useful experiments done in this area.

  8. About the episode called To Belong: we learn about how we humans construct our social being, our ability to relate to others, our socializing skills. It made me think (yet once again) about “our problem” as an intelligent species, a species capable of complex thinking processes (imagining, establishing connections between ideas and things and feelings). The episode presented interesting data on how we build an awareness of self and of others. It posed we have an innate sense of goodness (“mummy, try my baby food, it’s yummy!”), an innate sense of being fair (“Ok, use this bike, I’ll wait – it’s hard but I understand — and then it’ll be my turn”), a tendency to establish emotional connections to others (synchronicity).

Leave a Reply

